Somaliland Protectorate stamps

P=have O=don’t have it

Flag of Somaliland

Somaliland is a former British territory located in the northwest region of Somalia in the Horn of Africa, became part of Somalia in 1960.

In May of 1991, northern clans declared an independent Republic of Somaliland that now includes five of the eighteen administrative regions of Somalia, roughly the region between Ethiopia, Djibouti and the Gulf of Aden, an area of about 137,600 square kilometers. The capital of Somaliland is Hargeisa.

Although not recognized by any government, this entity has maintained a stable existence, aided by the overwhelming dominance of a ruling clan and economic infrastructure left behind by British, Russian, and American military assistance programs.


Scott: #114O

Issued: 10.10.1949

UPU Issue

Inside #114: Stamps on Envelopes