French West Africa stamps

P=have O=don’t have it

French West Africa former federation of eight French overseas territories. The constituent territories were Dahomey (now Benin), French Guinea (now Guinea), French Sudan (now Mali), Côte d’Ivoire, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, and Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso). The federation was created in 1895 to consolidate the French holdings in West Africa and was definitively constituted in 1904. In 1958 the constituent territories became autonomous republics in the French Community, except for Guinea, which became independent. The federation was dissolved in 1959.

Scott: #C17P

(Thanks to Lou for the scan)

Issued: 6.6.1954

10th Anniversary, Liberation of France

#718 Inside #C17: France #718P