East Timor stamps

P=have O=don’t have it

Timor is an island at the south end of the Malay Archipelago. The name is a variant of timur, Malay for "east"; it is so called because it is at the east end of a chain of islands.

East Timor, officially the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste or Timor-Leste, is a country in Southeast Asia comprising the eastern half of the island of Timor, the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco, and Oecussi-Ambeno, an exclave on the northwestern side of the island, within Indonesian West Timor. The small country of 14,609 square kilometres is located about 640 km northwest of Darwin, Australia.

Colonized by Portugal in the sixteenth century, East Timor was known as Portuguese Timor for centuries. It was invaded by Indonesia in 1975, which occupied it until 1999. Following the UN sponsored act of self-determination that year, Indonesia relinquished control of the territory and East Timor became the first new country of the twenty-first century on May 20, 2002.



Scott: #278P

Issued: 3.10.1953

Centenary of Portugese Stamps

#1 Inside #278: Portugal #1P (Portugal)

Best website related: