Antigua stamps

P=have O=don’t have it

Flag of Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua is an island between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east-southeast of Puerto Rico. The Spanish discovered Antigua in 1493, christened after Santa Maria de la Antigua, a church in Sevilla. The island was settled by the British, lead by Sir Thomas Warner, in 1632…..

In 1871, the island colonies of Antigua (with Barbuda), Montserrat, St. Kitts, Nevis, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands and Dominica were joined to form the Federation Leewards Islands Colony; it's seat of administration was St. John's on Antigua. In 1958, the Federated Leeward Islands Colony was dissolved, and Antigua joined the Federation of the West Indies. It was dissolved in 1962.

Antigua & Barbuda became an independent state within the British Commonwealth of Nations in 1981.

See: Antigua & Barbuda stamps

See: Barbuda stamps

See also: Redonda stamps

Scott: #102O

Issued: 10.10.1949

UPU Issue (Common Design Types)

75th Anniversary of the formation of the UPU

Inside #102: Stamps on Envelopes

Scott: #129-132P

Issued: 1.8.1962

Centenary of Antiguan Stamps

 Inside #129-132: Antigua #1O

Scott: #339O

Issued: 15.7.1974

Centenary, UPU

Inside #339: Stamps on Envelopes


Scott: #528P ,#529P

Issued: 12.2.1979

Death Centenary of Sir Rowland Hill

 Inside #528: Antigua #2O

 Inside #529: G.B. #1 [S-G]

Visit: The Penny Black Plate project

Scott: #532(ss)O

Scott: #528-31 – First day cover

Scott: #???O, #???O (MK585-6)

Issued: 27.8.1979

Death Centenary of Sir Rowland Hill

Reprinted in Color Shading and M/S of 5

(Thanks to G.B.)

Scott: #571a-bP

Issued: 6.5.1980

London '80 Int'l Stamp Exhibition

Scott #528 & #529 (Death Centenary of Sir Rowland Hill)

Overprinted “LONDON 1980”

For stamps after 1981 See: Antigua & Barbuda stamps